The Perk of Being a Wallflower – Film review

Release Date – 3rd October 2012 (in Ireland)

Genres – Drama | Romance

Director – Stephen Chbosky

Starring – Logan Lerman (Charlie), Emma Watson (Sam), Erza Miller (Patrick).

Based on Stephen Chbosky’s novel ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ (published 1999).

Review – This time I am not going to write a synopsis because the story is pretty much the same as the book, so if you don’t know what the book and film are about then I suggest you read my review on the book.

I watched the film a week later after it came out, and that was a while ago therefore I have forgotten a lot of stuff. Well done, shitty memory, I love you too. I really really cannot be bothered to re-watch it so this review will most likely suck. Deal with it.

Anyway, I must start off by saying that I hate a lot of things in this world. I’ll make a list for you guys one day. One of the things I most abhor is not when films omit parts of the book (as long as they’re not that relevant) but when they change stuff. Seriously no, there’s no need to do that. Thankfully, this film is pretty close to what the book is like – probably due to the fact that the author of the novel wrote the script.

There are two main things I can remember they changed. The first one was the whole story of the sister having a boyfriend who hit her once and then got pregnant. They included the slap he gave her but they didn’t say anything about the pregnancy and her having to abort. I feel like they didn’t give Charlie’s family enough attention.

The second thing is Charlie’s friendship with his English teacher whose name I can’t remember but I know was played by Paul Rudd (Mike in Friends). They did include how he gave him books to read and review but they totally ignored the part in which Charlie goes to his house for lunch and their general bond.

Also, I am sure many people will think this film is A+++ after watching it (my friend absolutely loved it) but to be honest I didn’t think it was that great. I mean, the actors, the soundtrack, everything was fine. I just don’t like those films which don’t have a “proper storyline”. For example, The Hunger Games is all about Katniss (and Peeta) surviving the Games; The Avengers is about defeating Loki and getting the Tesseract (or Cosmic Cube); Sherlock Holmes (the one with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law) is about defeating Moriarty etc etc.. Of course these films have other “branches” of stories (e.g.: The relationship between Peeta and Katniss), otherwise they would be incredibly boring. Meanwhile, there are films and books which don’t have a defined storylines and, even though loads of people like them, I don’t.

I recommend this film and I can’t be bothered to write more about it. Comments and likes are appreciated. xx

Leave a Reply

